top of page

Mr. Moore Joins the JPEC Team

The EC students have had a new math teacher for this Semester

By Jonah Kreger


At the beginning of the second term, College Prep students found themselves with a new student teacher in Mrs. Llerena’s room, Mr. Moore. After obtaining his degree, Mr. Moore took a job at the EC building.

The Falcon Press was able to acquire an exclusive interview with Mr. Moore. He explains why he wants to teach at JPEC,

“JPEC has always been very important to me, as you know, I’ve been here for seven years. JPEC is kind of a special school because there aren't many schools that are accomplishing the things that we are accomplishing, giving students the opportunity to earn college credits in high school. At JpEC, we’re graduating a high percentage of students with associate's degrees, bachelor's degrees, and receiving credits. That is a very unique experience. That’s the big reason I joined is being part of something that’s special.”

It’s incredibly important for teachers to get along with each other, especially when just getting started in a career. Thankfully, Mr. Moore went to high school here at JPEC, so it isn’t hard for him to make connections. He elaborated,

“The faculty’s great, I knew most of them. I work most with Mrs. Lloyd and Mr. Pratt. Mr. Pratt was actually my Math teacher in high school, so it’s fun to work with him and share some stories about our time back in high school. He’s helping me improve now, so it’s just a great mentorship going on with the faculty.”

Mr. Moore continued, elucidating on his experience as a teacher at JPEC so far,

“The new job’s great, so I’ve been over at the CP building working with 6-8 grades and that was a great experience. I never worked with middle school students before, so it was nice getting to know the kids a little better. Over at the early college, it was a pretty welcoming experience, I felt right at home.”

Mrs. Llerena took on Mr. Moore as student teacher at the beginning of the second term. The Falcon Press also got an exclusive interview with her in order to understand Mr. Moore a bit better,

“I took on Mr. Moore as a student-teacher because I really want to start helping younger teachers learn how to teach, and that’s one of the reasons I’m going to get my master's degree. I really want to start transitioning into that realm of teachers helping other teachers.”

Mr. Moore and Mrs. Llerena worked throughout the second term, and it seemed like they were getting along,

“I loved working with Mr. Moore, I love team teaching, I love having more than one teacher in the classroom. You can have someone to talk to, you can break up into small groups, you can bounce ideas off each other. He does such a good job getting to know the students, talking to them, and listening to their interests, it was just an awesome experience, I really liked working with him.”

Mr. Moore said that he intends to be at JPEC for the long haul. Mr. Moore is an absolute pleasure to have at JPEC, and he will be a joy to have for many years to come.


Mr. Moore preparing for his classes for the day during his prep hour. Photo By Joel Smith.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page